+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Warning?

  1. #1
    Plakian's Avatar
    Plakian is offline Member (300+)
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    South coast of Crete, Greece
    Posts
    375

    Default Warning?

    I just had the following warning about a mail from HostelTimes:-
    Thunderbird thinks this message might be an email scam.

    Dear Manager or Owner of Hostel.

    We would like to notify you that your room availability for www.hosteltimes.com network has shown as no vacancy or run out room availability which means we are not able to send you more reservation.

    We are on a big promotion with Google Company in Japan and Korea and china with their language website. We hope to send lots of Asian Backpackers to your hostel with On-LINE confirmed reservation.

    To insert your availability and edit any necessary information about your hostel, please access IN-BOX (PROPERTY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM) by clicking the following link with your ID and Password.

    http://www.hosteltimes.com/inbox

    If you need any help, a detailed manual is available under the "Help" Menu to assist you in completing all necessary steps. If you would like further assistance or would like us to insert your initial rooms and availability for your hostel, please click below the Link and send your request. We will answer you briefly.
    http://www.hosteltimes.com/En/Email/...lContactUs.asp

    If you do not know your ID and Password, please click below the Link
    http://www.hosteltimes.com/En/Email/...lContactUs.asp
    Best regards
    The Backpackers Future.
    Hostel Times.com network
    www.hosteltimes.com www.allhostel.com
    www.tournall.com www.roomcrs.com www.reskor.com
    Tel: 1-323-463-2703 1-323-459-6900 PST (USA Pacific Time)
    Safe Unsubscribe
    This email was sent to chris@yhplakias.com by info@hosteltimes.com.
    Update Profile/Email Address | Instant removal with SafeUnsubscribe™ | Privacy Policy.

    Email Marketing by
    WebSys Inc | 6820 Hollywood Blvd. | Los Angeles | CA | 90028

    A further warning came when I clicked on hosteltimes.com - I went no further!

    If you put the cursor on hosteltimes.com above it looks normal. This is what I get with the mail!!!
    http://rs6.net/tn.jsp?et=11028479184...bxhL752qf9Fg==

    A search has revealed it is a scam - WARN YOUR STAFF!

    This is what I got from R2D5:
    WARNING! All the messages on this site are all scams! Do not reply to them.

    The scam is also known as: Nigerian scam, Nigerian fraud, Advance-fee fraud, 419 scam, Nigerian 419 scam, Nigerian 4-1-9 scam, Nigerian money scam, Nigerian scam spam, Nigerian scam baiting, Nigerian email scam, Nigerian advance-fee fraud, Check overpayment scam, Nigerian advance-fee scam
    Last edited by Plakian; 25th November 2009 at 5:23. Reason: additional info

  2. #2
    John A is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Koloa
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Warning?

    This was a good spot and thanks for putting this notice on the forum.

    We received the same email did not suspect it was a phishing scam.

    Now we do suspect it is a phishing scam and fortunately for us, we logged into HostelTimes using a new browser (always advisable to use a new browser and not click on "links" expecially in an email).

    When we logged into the "real" HostelTimes, our bed inventory was up which really does show that this email was not from HostelTimes.

    Yesterday (1/12/2009) we received a 2nd similar type email (shown below with links I de-activated). This email was flagged by Microsoft/Hotmail as a phishing email

    So, beware!

    I have contacted Hosteltimes in both instances to advise them and have not heard a response from them.

    Here's my email and the recent (new) phishing email:

    Here' the message the message I sent hosteltimes a short while ago:


    It appears that someone is spoofing or phishing using the hosteltimes name. This is the 2nd report and this report is of a new email that we just received in addition to the original one I just wrote about. The first one has been posted on www.hostelmanagement.com. Windows Live also blocked it and I did not open any of the links.

    Here is the complete message received on 12/1/2009 for you to research:

    Dear Manager or Owner of Hostel.

    HT Image
    Greetings from Hostel Times.com Online booking Network.
    We are on a big promotion with Google Company in Japan and Korea and china with their language website. We hope to send lots of Asian Backpackers to your hostel with On-LINE confirmed reservation.

    Please check all information, availability, prices and update more pictures for your hostel...
    [url]http://www.hosteltimes.co/inbo


    If you need any help, a detailed manual is available under the "Help" Menu when you see In-Box web page. If you would like further assistance or would like us to insert your initial rooms and availability for your hostel, please click below the Link and send your request. We will answer you briefly.
    [url]http://www.hosteltimes.co/En/Email/En_MailContactUs.as

    If you do not know your ID and Password, please click below the Link
    [url]http://www.hosteltimes.co/En/Email/En_MailContactUs.as
    Best regards
    The Backpackers Best Friend.
    Hostel Times.com network
    [url]www.hosteltimes.co
    [url]www.allhostel.co
    [url]www.tournall.co
    [url]www.roomcrs.co
    [url]www.reskor.co
    Tel: 1-323-463-2703 1-323-459-6900 PST (USA Pacific Time)
    Safe Unsubscribe
    This email was sent to obihostel@hotmail.co by info@hosteltimes.co.
    Update Profile/Email Address | Instant removal with SafeUnsubscribe™ | Privacy Policy.

    Email Marketing by
    WebSys Inc | 6820 Hollywood Blvd. | Los Angeles | CA | 90028

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    53

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Tripadvisor Warning Visitors About Fake Reviews
    By Hostels in forum Hostel Trends and News
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th July 2009, 8:45
  2. URGENT: Microsoft Windows Warning!
    By Hostels in forum Website, Computer, and Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th December 2008, 12:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts